Brussels Travel Guide

Brussels is the capital of Belgium and is considered by many to be the de facto capital of the European Union, as two of its three main institutions have their headquarters in the city.

Brussels is first of all a city located in the centre of Belgium and its capital, but it sometimes also refers to the largest municipality of the Brussels-Capital Region. This municipality inside Brussels is correctly named The City of Brussels (French: Bruxelles-Ville or Ville de Bruxelles, Dutch: de Stad Brussel), which is one of 19 municipalities that make up the Brussels-Capital Region. The municipality has a population of about 140,000 while the Brussels-Capital Region has almost a million inhabitants.

The Brussels-Capital Region is a region of Belgium in its own right, alongside the Flemish Region and Wallonia. Geographically, it is an enclave of the Flemish Region. Regions are one component of Belgium's complex institutions, the three communities being "the" other component: the Brussels inhabitants must deal with either the French (speaking) community or the Flemish Community for matters such as culture and education.

See Also

Events in Brussels

Hotels in Brussels

Restaurants in Brussels

Nightlife in Brussels

Attractions in Brussels

Maps of Brussels

Weather in Brussels


Visit these other interesting sites!

Hosted in